Central Zoo Authority grants recognition to 2 New Zoos – one each in Bihar & Uttar Pradesh

Two new Zoos one each in Bihar & UP get recognition by CentreOn December 7, 2020, The 37th General Body meeting of Central Zoo Authority (CZA) chaired by Union Minister for Environment, Forest and Climate Change (MoEFCC), Prakash Javadekar granted recognition to 2 New ZoosRajgir Zoo Safari in Nalanda, Bihar & Shaheed Ashfaque Ullah Khan Prani Udyaan in Gorakhpur, Uttar Pradesh.

Highlights of the Meeting:

i.During the meeting, Union Minister Prakash Javadekar lauded the efforts of officials in developing a 10-year Vision Plan for Up-gradation of 15 Zoos in India to Global Standards.

ii.The Vision Plans also aims to bring investment from the corporate sector in the modernization process.

iii.Prakash Javadekar stated that an Investors Summit will be held in 2021 to raise funds and take forward the Modernization agenda.

Rajgir Zoo Safari:

i.The Foundation stone for the Zoo was laid by Bihar Chief Minister Nitish Kumar in 2017.

ii.It houses 5 Safari enclosures and a proposed walk-in. It is also proposed to house Lion, Bear, Tiger, Leopard and other herbivore species such as Spotted Deer, Sambar.

iii.The speciality of the zoo is the naturalistic safari enclosure which provides large space for the captive animals.

Shaheed Ashfaque Ullah Khan Prani Udyaan, Gorakhpur:

i.Shaheed Ashfaque Ullah Khan Prani Udyaan, Gorakhpur, Uttar Pradesh has enclosures for a range of birds, herbivores and carnivores.With this, the state of Uttar Pradesh has a total of 9 Zoos.

ii.It is expected to be the 2nd Biggest Zoo in Uttar Pradesh after Kanpur Zoological Park.

iii.The zoo aims to raise awareness through naturalistic enclosures and plans to create long-lasting visitor experience through latest facilities such as 4D Theatre, battery-operated train and accessibility to Persons with Disabilities (Divyangjan).

About Central Zoo Authority:

It is an Statutory Body under the Ministry of Environment, Forest and Climate Change (MoEFCC)

Chairperson – Union Minister for MoEFCC (Prakash Javadekar)
Headquarters – New Delhi

Exit mobile version