Security Printing and Minting Corporation of India Limited

Security Printing and Minting Corporation of India Limited (SPMCIL) was incorporated on 13 January 2006 under the Companies Act, 1956 with its headquarters in New Delhi. It is a Miniratna Company and is wholly owned by the Government of India.
The work of SPMCIL includes manufacturing of security paper, minting of coins, printing of currency and bank notes, non-judicial stamp papers, postage stamps, travel documents, etc.
The vision of SPMCIL is “To be leader in manufacturing of currency, coins and security products through process excellence and innovation”.SPMCIL

It has nine units including four mints, four presses and one paper mill.

Printing Presses:

There are 4 printing presses in the country which are

  • Currency Note Press, Nashik, Maharashtra.
  • Bank Note Press, Dewas, Madhya Pradesh.
  • India Security Press, Nashik, Maharashtra.
  • Security Printing Press, Hyderabad, Telangana.

SPMCIL broadly operates through four production verticals i.e. currency printing presses, security printing presses, security paper mill and India Government mints.

The first two are currency printing presses which are engaged in production of Bank Notes for our country as well as for foreign countries using state of the art technology. These units are equipped with designing, engraving, complete Pre-printing and Offset facilities, Intaglio Printing machines, Numbering & Finishing machines etc. The Bank Note Press Dewas also manufactures different types of security ink for various security organizations.

The last two are security printing presses which have specialized technology and multiple printing processes to produce security products under secure operating procedures and manufacturing protocols. These presses have the latest technological facilities for Designing, Pre-printing and Post-Printing.
India Security Press, Nashik prints and supplies judicial/non-judicial stamp papers, all types of postal & non postal stamps & stationery, passports, visa & other travel documents, MICR & Non-MICR Cheques in continuous Stationery form, Identity Cards, Railway Warrants, Income Tax Return Order Forms, Saving Instruments, commemorative stamps etc. It has printed tickets for Commonwealth Games 2010.
Security Printing Press, Hyderabad was established in the year 1982 to cater to the needs of the Central and various State Governments by printing and supplying security documents such as Postal Stationery items, Central Excise Stamps, Non-Judicial Stamps, Court Fee Stamps, Indian Postal Orders and Saving Instruments etc.


The Mints are situated at Mumbai(Maharashtra), Hyderabad(Telangana), Kolkata (West Bengal) and Noida(Uttar Pradesh).Mints at Mumbai, Hyderabad and Kolkata were established before independence. Click here to read about minting of coins and the four mints.

Paper Mill

The Security Paper Mill (SPM), Hoshangabad was established in 1968 which is responsible for manufacturing of different types of Security Papers. It provides the numerous security features in paper via Fluorescence Fibres, Multi-tonal three Dimensional Watermark, Electrotype Watermark, various types of Security Threads, Tangents, etc.



Exit mobile version