Current Affairs APP

RBI Fixed the Bank’s MD&CEOs Tenure at 15 years; Upper age limit at 70 years

 On April 26, 2021, the Reserve Bank of India (RBI) through its circular – “Corporate Governance in Banks – Appointment of Directors and Constitution of Committees of the Board”, has fixed 15 years as the tenure for the Managing Director and Chief executive officers (MD & CEOs) or whole-time directors(WTDs) to hold their post in a bank.

  • RBI’s instructions are meant for private sector banks, small finance banks (SFBs) and wholly-owned subsidiaries of foreign banks.
  • Note – The instructions are not applicable for foreign banks operating as branches in India.

RBI’s Regulations over MD&CEO or WTDs with conditions:

Instructions for  MD&CEO or WTDs Conditions
Tenure 15 years

(in the same bank after the completion of tenure)

Eligible – after a gap of

3 years 

In the 3 years, they should not be appointed or associated with a bank (directly/indirectly)
Tenure for MD&CEO or WTD who is also a promoter/ major shareholder 12 years RBI has sole discretion to extend the tenure up to 15 years
Upper age limit 70 years Banks are freed to prescribe lower retirement age

Regulations for Non-Executive Directors(NEDs):

Tenure 8 years
Re-appointment Eligible after a gap of 3 years


Not more than Rs 20 lakh per annum

(Exception- Chair of the board)

Upper age limit 75 years

Regulations over the Committees of the Board:



Audit Committee of the Board(ACB)  Risk Management Committee of the Board (RMCB) Nomination and Remuneration Committee (NRC)


Board members

Should be constituted only with NEDs  

Should have a majority of NEDs


Only with NEDs


Members of the committee’s meeting


Two-third should be of independent directors


Half of the members as independent directors

Half of the member as independent directors

(one can be a member of RMCB)

Chair of the committee’s meeting Independent director

(should not be a member of ACB)

Independent director (shall be a member of RMCB) Independent Director

(should not be a member of NRC)

Recent Related News:

On February 17, 2021, the Reserve Bank of India (RBI) has issued “Master Direction – Non-Banking Financial Company – Housing Finance Company (Reserve Bank) Directions, 2021” in the exercise of the powers conferred under sections 45L and 45MA of the Reserve Bank of India Act, 1934 and Sections 30, 30A, 32 and 33 of the National Housing Bank Act, 1987.

About Reserve Bank of India (RBI):

Establishment – 1st April 1935
Headquarters – Mumbai, Maharashtra
Governor – Shaktikanta Das
Deputy Governors – Mahesh Kumar Jain, Michael DebabrataPatra, and M Rajeshwar Rao

error: Alert: Content is protected !!