Cricket: Overview of India Tour of South Africa 2021-22

Highlights of India tour of South Africa, 2021-22

The Indian cricket team toured South Africa from 26th December 2021 to 23rd January 2022 to play 3 Tests and 3 One Day International(ODI) matches. 

In the test series, South Africa defeated India by winning the 3 match series by 2-1 and in the ODI series, South Africa defeated India by winning the 3 match series by 3-0. 

Overview of Test Series:

i.South Africa’s Test Cricket Team was captained by Dean Elgar and India’s Team was captained by Virat Kohli. 

ii.The three-match Test series commenced at the SuperSport Park in Centurion, Gauteng Province of South Africa. 


i.The 1st Test match was played at the Centurion Park, Centurion, and the 2nd test match was played at Wanderers Stadium, Johannesburg, South Africa. 

ii.The final tests of the 3 match series were played at the Newlands in Cape Town, one of South Africa’s most successful venues in Test formats.

  • The test matches were a part of the 2021-2023 International Cricket Council(ICC) World Test Championship(WTC). 


The test series between South Africa and India is called Freedom Trophy, devoted to Mahatma Gandhi and Nelson Mandela.

Key Points:

i.This also marks the final test match of Quinton de Kock, following the announcement of his retirement with immediate effect following the conclusion of the match.

ii.This marks the 4th edition of the freedom trophy which was inaugurated in 2015-2016. 

iii.Keegan Petersen of South Africa won the Player of the Series in the 3 Match Test Series Against India Vs South Africa

Record of Indian Players:

Rishabh Pant becomes fastest Indian keeper to reach 100 dismissals in Tests; breaks MS Dhoni’s record:

On 28th December 2021, Rishabh Pant broke the record of MS Dhoni to reach 100 dismissals and became the fastest Indian wicket-keeper to reach 100 dismissals in Test cricket, the longest format of the Game. He made the record on the Day 3 of the first Test Against South Africa. 

He achieved 100 dismissals in 26 matches whereas Dhoni achieved the record in 36 games. 

Jasprit Bumrah becomes fastest Indian bowler to take 100 overseas Test wickets:

Jasprit Bumrah has become the fastest, Indian bowler, to take 100 overseas Test wickets for India. He achieved the record in 23 matches breaking the record held by B Chandrasekhar who made the record in 25 games. 

India’s Ravichandran Ashwin achieved the record in 26 matches, Bishan Bedi in 28, Javagal Srinath in 28 games and Mohammed Shami in 28 games. 

Mohammad Shami becomes 5th Indian pacer to take 200 Test wickets

Mohammed Shami has become the 5th Indian pacer to take 200 Test wickets. He achieved the record in 55 Test matches and was the 3rd quickest Indian after Kapil Dev and Javagal Srinath

He took a 5-wicket haul at the SuperSport Park to reach 200 Test wickets.

Kapil Dev, Javagal Srinath, Zaheer Khan, and Ishant Sharma were the others to achieve the mark of 200 Test wickets. 

ICC WTC rankings: India ranks 5th

As of 16th January 2022, India has ranked 5th on the ICC World Test Championship (2021-2023) Points Table. 

Sri Lanka tops the table followed by Australia, Pakistan and South Africa. 


In June 2021, New Zealand won the first cycle of the ICC World Test Championship defeating India in Southampton, England.

Overview of ODI:

South Africa won the 3 matches One Day International(ODI) series defeating India. South Africa’s ODI team was captained by Temba Bavuma and India’s team was captained by KL Rahul. 

Quinton de Kock of South Africa won the Player of the ODI series Award. 


The 1st and 2nd ODI matches were played at the Boland Park, Paarl, South Africa and the 3rd ODI match was played at the Newlands Cricket Ground, Cape Town, South Africa. 

Virat Kohli Becomes India’s Highest Run-Scorer in Away ODIs 

Virat Kohli has become India’s highest run-getter in ODI cricket away from home during the first ODI of the three-match series against South Africa held at Boland Park in Paarl, South Africa.

Virat Kohli has surpassed Sachin Tendulkar who had scored 5,065 runs in the away ODIs for India.

Virat Kohli is followed by Sachin Tendulkar (5,065 runs in 146 inns), MS Dhoni (4520 runs in 124 inns), Rahul Dravid (3998 runs in 110 inns) and Sourav Ganguly (3468 runs in 105 inns).       

Exit mobile version