Current Affairs APP

Current Affairs Today – May 23 2015

Dear Readers, We cover some important news in Bulletin Today Section, which are not covered in Daily Brief News, More Current Affairs coverage will helpful for upcoming exam.


Try Our Current Affairs Quiz – May 23 2015

Detailed News


Bulletin News

Indian Affairs

AIADMK chief Jayalalithaa sworn in as Tamil Nadu CM for fifth time

  • The 67 year old AIADMK ( All India Anna Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam ) supremo Ms.J .Jayalalithaa took the oath held at the University of Madras Centenary Auditorium here on May 23rd, 2015.
  • Twenty eight other ministers also took oath in a brief ceremony.
  • She was administered oath of office and secrecy by Tamil nadu Governor K Rosaiah.
  • The swearing-in ceremony was attended by BJP leaders including Union Minister Pon Radhakrishnan and national office bearer of the party H Raja. Actors Rajinikanth, Sarathkumar and eminent music composer Ilayaraja were among the long list of dignitaries who attended the function.

    About disproportionate assets case

  • J. Jayalalitha, was sentenced to jail for four years on corruption charges in a case that has lasted for 18 years, following her conviction in the 66.66 crore disproportionate assets case
  • She was penalized with a fine of Rs 100 crore, highest imposed on any politician, by a special judge John Michael D’Cunha on 27th September 2014.
  • Apart from her, the court also accused Sasikala Natarajan, ilavarasi, V N Sudhakaran.
    The Karnataka High Court had subsequently acquitted her of the charges on May 11.

International Affairs 

Parvinder Singh Batth, becomes first Sikh mayor in United Kingdom’s Wokingham Borough Council

  • Indian-origin councillor Parvinder Singh Batth was chosen as the mayor of Britain’s Wokingham Borough Council, the first Sikh to hold the position.
  • He succeeds Councillor UllaKarin Clark for this post and will serve till 2016.
  • Parvinder Singh Batth previously had served as Deputy Mayor of borough of Wokingham in Berkshire in south east England.

Business & Finance 

BSE drops Tata Power from Sensex; Lupin to come in

  • Private sector electricity producer Tata Power will move out of the stock market benchmark index Sensex and will be replaced by drugmaker Lupin.
  • The change in the Sensex’s constituents will be effective from June 22. Apart from benchmark indices, the BSE announced changes in the BSE 100, BSE 500 and Bankex indices as well.
  • Adani Power is to be excluded from the S&P BSE 100 and be replaced by Aurobindo Pharma. In addition, Tata Motors class ‘A’ shares or DVR shares will also be included in BSE 100.
  • Asia’s oldest exchange also removed Canara Bank and Bank of India from the Bankex, and replaced 26 companies from the BSE 500 index by introducing 27 stocks as part of their index rebalancing.
  • What is BANKEX Index?  As a result of bank stocks were emerging as a major segment in the equity market, the bourse has designed an index, computed on free float methodology, with base date as on January one, 2002, Bombay Stock Exchange launched a new index, BANKEX.

SAIL, ArcelorMittal ink MoU to set up steel plant in India

  • Steel Authority of India (SAIL) and world’s largest steelmaker, ArcelorMittal signed a MoU to set up an automotive steel manufacturing facility in India.
  • The MoU was signed by ArcelorMittal Chairman & Chief Executive Lakshmi Niwas Mittal and SAIL Chairman CS Verma in London.
  • The proposed JV will construct a state-of-the-art cold rolling mill and other downstream finishing facilities in India that will offer technologically advanced steel products to India’s rapidly growing automotive sector,”


Indian boxers clinch 4 gold, 1 silver, 2 bronze medals in Doha Boxing Tournament

  • Indian boxers have rounded off a brilliant run at the Doha International Tournament by winning four gold, one silver and two bronze medals.
  • Gold medal winners are L Devendro Singh in 49 kg category by defeating Aldren Moreno of Philippines by 3:0.
  • Shiva Thapa in 56kg category by defeating HYM Abdelaal of Egypt by 2:1.
  • Manish Kaushik in 60 kg category by defeating Rabi Hamza of Morocco by 3:0.
  • Manoj Kumar in 64 kg category by defeating Magliquian Nicole of Philippines by 3:0.
  • The silver medal was won by Gaurav Bidhuri in 52 kg category. While Mandeep Jangra and Vikas Krishan bagged bronze medals in 69kg and 75kg categories respectively.

error: Alert: Content is protected !!