72nd annual Cannes Film Festival held in Cannes, France from 14 to 25 May 2019

The 72nd annual Cannes Film Festival was held in Cannes, France from 14 to 25 May 2019.

i. Filmmaker of Mexico, Alejandro González Iñárritu served as jury president of Cannes Film Festival 2019.
ii. The Festival honoured the French filmmaker Agnès Varda, by featuring her on the official poster of the festival. She died in March 2019.
iii. South Korean film ‘Parasite’ wins Palme d’Or which is directed by Bong Joon-ho at Cannes Film Festival. He became the first Korean director to win the award.
iv. The opening film of the festival is “The Dead Don’t Die” and the closing film of the festival is “The Specials” 
v.The film festival was hosted by Édouard Baer.
vi. The number of films participated were 21 (In Competition), 18 (Un Certain Regard), 11 (Short films).
About Indian Participation:

  • I&B Secretary Amit Khare leads Indian Delegation to Cannes Film Festival.
  • Indian filmmaker, Achyutanand Dwivedi’s “Seed Mother”, won the third prize in the international section of Nespresso Talents 2019.
  • Indian and Israeli delegation hold the meeting in the Cannes festival during which, Israel proposes “India to be the focus country in Jerusalem Film Festival, 2020”.

Awards and their Categories:
i.In Competition:

Name of Award Winner Film
Palme d’Or Bong Joon-ho Parasite(Korean)
Grand Prix Mati Diop(Diop made history by becoming the first black woman to direct a film featured In Competition at the festival) Atlantics(Senegal)
Jury Prize Kleber Mendonça Filho and Juliano Dornelles Bacurau(Brazil)
Ladj Ly Les Misérables(France)
Best Director Jean-Pierre and Luc Dardenne Young Ahmed (Belgium)
Best Actress Emily Beecham Little Joe(UK-Austria)
Best Actor Antonio Banderas Pain and Glory(Spain)
Best Screenplay Céline Sciamma Portrait of a Lady on Fire(France)
Special Mention Elia Suleiman It Must Be Heaven(France –Canada)

ii.Un Certain Regard:
Name of Award Winner Film
Un Certain Regard Award Karim Aïnouz The Invisible Life of Eurídice Gusmão(Brazil)
Un Certain Regard Jury Prize Oliver Laxe Fire Will Come(Spain)
Un Certain Regard Award for Best Director Kantemir Balagov Beanpole(Russia)
Un Certain Regard Jury Award for Best Performance Chiara Mastroianni On a Magical Night(France)
Un Certain Regard Special Jury Prize Albert Serra Liberté(Spain)
Bruno Dumont Joan of Arc(France)
Coup de Cœur Award Monia Chokri A Brother’s Love(Canada)
Michael Angelo Covino The Climb(America)

iii.Golden Camera:
Caméra d’Or: Our Mothers by César Díaz

iv.Short Films:

Name of Award Winner Film
Short Film Palme d’Or Vasilis Kekatos The Distance Between Us and the Sky
Special Mention Agustina San Martín Monster God

Name of Award Winner Film
First Prize Louise Courvoisier Mano a mano
Second Prize Richard Van Hiêu
Third Prize Wisam Al Jafari Ambience
Barbara Rupik The Little Soul

vi.Honorary Palme d’Or:
Honorary Palme d’Or: Alain Delon.

Independent awards

Name of Award Winner Film
In Competition Elia Suleiman It Must Be Heaven(France)
Un Certain Regard Kantemir Balagov Beanpole(Russia)
Parallel section Robert Eggers The Lighthouse(America)

ii.Ecumenical Prize
Prize of the Ecumenical Jury: A Hidden Life by Terrence Malick

iii.International Critics’ Week

Name of Award Winner Film
Nespresso Grand Prize Jérémy Clapin I Lost My Body(France)
Leitz Cine Discovery Prize for Short Film Qiu Yang She Runs
Louis Roederer Foundation Rising Star Award Ingvar E. Sigurðsson A White, White Day
Gan Foundation Award for Distribution Lorcan Finnegan Vivarium
SACD Award César Díaz Our Mothers
Canal+ Award for Short Film Andrias Høgenni Ikki Illa Meint

iv.Directors’ Fortnight:
Name of Award Winner Film
Europa Cinemas Label Award for Best European Film Nicolas Pariser Alice and the Mayor(France)
SACD Award for Best French-language Film Rebecca Zlotowski An Easy Girl(France)
Illy Short Film Award Pham Thien An Stay Awake, Be Ready
Carrosse d’Or John Carpenter

v.L’Œil d’or :
Name of Award Winner Film
L’Œil d’or Waad al-Kateab and Edward Watts Sama
Patricio Guzmán The Cordillera of Dreams

vi.Queer Palm:
Name of Award Winner Film
Queer Palm Award Céline Sciamma Portrait of a Lady on Fire(France)
Short Film Queer Palm Vasilis Kekatos The Distance Between Us and the Sky

vii.Prix François Chalais
François Chalais Prize: A Hidden Life by Terrence Malick

viii.Cannes Soundtrack Award
Cannes Soundtrack Award: Alberto Iglesias for Pain and Glory

ix.Trophée Chopard:
Chopard Trophy: François Civil and Florence Pugh

x.Pierre Angénieux ExcelLens in Cinematography:
Pierre Angénieux Excellens in Cinematography: Bruno Delbonnel

xi.Vulcan Award of the Technical Artist:

Name of Award Winner Film
Vulcan Award Flora Volpelière (editing) and Julien Poupard (cinematography) Les Misérables
Special Mention Claire Mathon Atlantics and Portrait of a Lady on Fire (cinematography)
Artistic Direction Mention Lee Ha-jun Parasite

xii.Palm Dog:
Name of Award Winner Film/Awarded for
Palm Dog Award Brandy Once Upon a Time in Hollywood
Grand Jury Prize Canine cast in Little Joe
Canine cast in Aasha and the Street Dogs (Marché du Film)
Palm DogManitarian Award Google For their support of dogs in the workplace
Underdog Award The Unadoptable

About Cannes Film Festival:
Founded – 1946
Location – Cannes, France

error: Alert: Content is protected !!